top of page
  • Writer's picturelauren belloni

How My Dog Affected My Mental Health


I got my dog, Cooper, in November of 2018 during Thanksgiving break of my freshman year of college. While in college I was really struggling with anxiety and depression and to say the least, Cooper saved my life.


I found Cooper at the Pet Fair inside the The Woodlands Mall. Cooper is a Shih Tzu and Shih Tzu's are my favorite dogs. Usually little dogs are yappy and mean but not Cooper. When I first walked into the Pet Fair I immediately saw him pressed up against the glass window and I swear we locked eyes. It was love at first sight from both ways. The entire time I kept thinking I have to hold this puppy and play with him because he looks so sad. I ended up playing with him for two hours and right before I handed him back I called my dad and asked if I could get him. He immediately said yes which I never thought in a million years would happen, but I think God was looking out for me because he knew I needed him.


Mental health is a huge issue nowadays, especially among my generation. I genuinely believe the spike in anxiety and depression is due to social media. Every day people are comparing themselves to people they see on the internet and that is very unhealthy for a person to do. My mom always says it is ridiculous nowadays how many people my age are struggling with mental health because her generation was never like this. It is all due to social media.



After having Cooper live with me as my dog in college, I could see a substantial incline in my mental health. Whenever I felt sad he would cheer me up with his cute little face and his playful, loving personality. Cooper is a dog who absolutely loves everyone he's ever come into contact with. I've never seen him try and aggressively bite or growl at anyone.


Cooper also helps with my anxiety. Sometimes when I'm not doing well, all I need is time with my dog. It really is true that dogs help people with their mental health. I always thought that an emotional support dog was pointless, but now I really believe in them. I hands-on got to see how these little animals can really affect a human.


I love you Cooper, thank you for everything!

Love, Mommy

1 view0 comments

留言


bottom of page