top of page
  • Writer's picturelauren belloni

My College Experience

I remember the hardest decision my senior year of high school was picking a college. I was accepted into Texas Christian University and the University of Oklahoma and I just could not decide. I loved them both but for different reasons. I loved TCU's campus and I already had friends at OU, so what I did to decide was tell myself wherever I found a roommate first is where I would go. Sounds silly right? I ended up finding a roommate at OU first and it was the best decision I have ever made.


The last semester of senior year and throughout the summer before college every single girl was talking about rush. Back then I honestly had no idea what rush really was and what being in a sorority really entailed. Fast forward to move-in day at the dorms. Rush started the next day and I was so nervous.


Its the first day of rush and the nerves were really flowing. I remember walking up to my first house and being like what the heck is this, LOL. I also thought "oh my gosh, it is so loud in here, I can't believe I have to do this for the next 5 or so days". On pref night I started crying because I could not pick between my two houses. Its funny looking back on it because I literally thought it was the end of the world if I didn't pick the right one. I ended up picking Alpha Phi and it was been the best experience in college.




Alpha Phi was a great way to meet friends and have people to go to game days with, shop with, eat with, and go out with. I met my first friend Hailey through U-Sing. U-sing

is a musical theater showcase put on by. the university and a fraternity and sorority pair up. to put together a show. I also met some of my first guy friends through U-Sing as well. Hailey and I instantly clicked and have done literally everything together since that day.


Game days at OU are one of my favorite things to attend. The OU DNA is something serious here. I love the atmosphere we have here and Norman and of course the tailgates. Being in Alpha Phi also gave me the opportunity to attend date parties. My

friends and I had so much dressing up to the theme and taking pictures. These memories will last a lifetime.



Coming to OU gave me so many opportunities in life. I never thought I would ever have the opportunity to work in the sports world while I was still a student. Working under recruiting operations I got a taste of what the sports industry is like. I also made new friends with other students that I worked with. Being able to get a behind-the-scenes point-of-view of the football team was super exciting. That is one thing a lot of people dream of. I will cherish those memories forever.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page