top of page
  • Writer's picturelauren belloni

Reflecting on Public Relations Design

To help me with my “Summary of Learning” project, I read through all my past blog to help me identify what I have learned.


Looking back on previous blog posts I have noticed that I need to work more on making my writing seem like I am talking to someone. As I have read other blogs besides my own, I feel like the writer is actually speaking to me. I defiantly pick up on my style of writing in the sense that sometimes it wasn’t very “blog” like.


The early days of writing were definitely stressful because I really didn’t know what I was doing. I thought of my blog posts as discussion posts and so my writing style was different. Like I said previously I need to make them more personable and less informative. I feel like I never turned a corner in my writing until now. I realize the mistakes I was making and moving forward with other courses and in my career, I will always keep that in mind.


A project that I take a lot of pride in is the social media posts assignment. I feel like my work was very well done for the resources I had to work with and that my posts match the organization’s social media posts as well. I think my post’s fit the theme throughout the organization's social media. I am also proud of my work because I am interested in going into the sports field and I think the assignment is a good example of what I can do. The organization I chose was the University of Oklahoma Football. When I say I did well with the resources I had, that means that I only had access to images that were online. If I were to work for OU Football, I would have access to images from the photographers that I could use and edit to my liking.


A project I wish I had given slightly more effort in is my envelope. I honestly just took the theme that I had going through my letterhead and business card and threw something together very fast. I could have put more thought into it and designed it better.


As a public relations practitioner, I have grown tremendously. First off, I never have had any experience doing anything related to public relations except for writing. I have realized that within the public relations field there are so many different fields you can go into. I never really thought that I would like design, but it turns out that I really enjoy it through this class. If I am being honest, I do not really enjoy writing, but I do really enjoy designing. I am very nitpicky when it comes to design, and I will put hours of work into something that could take 5 minutes. This is because I enjoy the work and want to design it to the best of my abilities. Family and friends will compliment my work, but I still sometimes won't like it because I know it can be better. What I mean by better is that It could match the company’s theme better or be organized in a better way, or contain different information.


Important tips for design are designing something that is pleasing to the eye. If it would not catch your own attention, it is probably not good enough. Make sure all your information is correct and that all your designs for a company are cohesive so that the public can identify them. If you were on the design team for OU Football, you wouldn’t use green and blue as colors in your design.

0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page